Covid-19: Sabah requires people arriving from 11 countries to undergo mandatory quarantine

KOTA KINABALU: People arriving from Sabah from 11 countries will have to undergo Covid-19 mandatory quarantine with effect from Tuesday (Dec 28).

State Covid 19 spokesman Datuk Seri Masidi Manjun said that visitors from the United Kingdom, Saudi Arabia, Australia, Norway, France, Canada, Denmark, Nigeria, United States, India and Pakistan will have to undergo mandatory quarantine.

He said in a statement Sunday (Dec 26) that visitors from these countries must undergo quarantine at the first international port of arrival at the quarantine centre approved by the government before they can continue or board a flight to Sabah.

The measure comes amid worries over the spread of Covid-19 cases involving the Omnicron variant reported in those countries.

Sabah recorded 108 new Covid-19 cases Sunday, the lowest number of Covid-19 cases in seven months. A single death was reported.