GE15: Anwar to contest in Tambun parliamentary seat

IPOH: PKR president Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim will contest in the Tambun parliamentary seat in the upcoming 15th General Election (GE15).

The Opposition leader confirmed this at the launch of the Pakatan Harapan convention held at the Ipoh Convention Centre here on Thursday Oct 20).

The incumbent Port Dickson MP and Pakatan chairman was also officially announced as the Prime Minister’s candidate if Pakatan won GE15.

The current Tambun MP is former Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Ahmad Faizal Azumu, the Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) deputy president, who is now the Youth and Sports Minister.

He had been declared a “traitor” by Pakatan for his role in the collapse of the previous state government in 2020 by switching sides to Perikatan Nasional shortly after the Sheraton Move.

Anwar on Sept 28 had said that he had to pick areas held by traitors as a message that treachery in politics is not acceptable.

“I will not pick a seat where I can win a big majority easily.

“I am coming with much confidence to take over Tambun,” Anwar said.