GE15: Dr M releases Pejuang’s seven-point manifesto

PETALING JAYA: The Gerakan Tanah Air movement has released its manifesto for Pejuang and its partners for the 15th General Election (GE15), outlining seven key points as part of its mission to push the country towards national recovery.

The manifesto – known as the “New Malaysia Agenda” (Agenda Baharu Malaysia) – pledged that the coalition would strengthen the application of the doctrine of separation of powers through structural and legislative improvements.

This includes putting the appointments of key government positions such as the Attorney General, Inspector-General of the Police, Chief Justice, Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) chief, Chief Secretary of the Government, Treasury secretary-general, Auditor-General, and Bank Negara Governor, among others, under Parliament.

The manifesto was launched by Pejuang chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and was livestreamed on social media.

In its manifesto, Pejuang plans to introduce political reforms by pushing for enactment of a political funding law, to crack down on the culture of money politics and corruption.

Pejuang also would have MACC monitor the declaration of assets of its top political leaders and high-ranking government officers.

It also plans to establish a special royal commission on integrity and corruption.

The manifesto also highlighted plans to address the rising cost of living and increase the income of the people through empowerment of economic activities, providing a better economic ecosystem and giving dignified jobs, especially to those in the lower-income group.

It also pledged to develop a comprehensive food sustainability and security as well as energy for the people.

On education, it plans to bring about easier access, especially for the B40 group as well as greater access to higher education for marginalised groups.

GTA also pledged to take a serious approach towards climate change, including implementing related laws.

In August, Dr Mahathir announced the formation of GTA, with the aim of strengthening the Malays, particularly in the economic field.

GTA comprises Parti Perikatan India Muslim Nasional (Iman), Parti Barisan Jemaah Islamiah Se-Malaysia (Berjasa) and Parti Bumiputera Perkasa Malaysia (Putra).

In the manifesto, it noted that despite the cooperation between Pejuang, Iman, Berjasa and Putra under GTA, it has yet to be officially registered under the Registrar of Societies.

As such, its candidates will use the logo and symbol of Pejuang in GE15.