Unbowed, unbent, unbroken, says Khairy over Umno sacking

KUALA LUMPUR: Former Umno Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin remains “unbowed, unbent, unbroken” soon after learning of his sacking from the party.

In an immediate response, Khairy took a jibe by changing his Twitter bio as the “Negri Sembilan Racing Bicycle Association president”.

“Tonight, I was sacked by the party which I loved, to which I had given loyalty. Unbowed. Unbent. Unbroken,” he said on Twitter on Friday night (Jan 27).

Meanwhile, almost 50 Umno leaders were either sacked or suspended for going against the party including standing as independents during the recent general election, says Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan.

The Umno secretary-general confirmed that former Umno Youth chief Khairy was among those sacked following a decision taken by the supreme council meeting on Friday night.

“The Umno members who were suspended from the party for six years were Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein, Datuk Maulizan Bujang, Datuk Seri Mohd Salim Sharif and Shahril Hamdan,” he said in a statement.

However, Ahmad did not mention the name of Umno Youth exco member Datuk Fathul Bari Mat Jahya.

Ahmad also said that the party had sacked five members from the Pasir Gudang division, nine from the Putrajaya division, two from the Tanjong Karang division and 26 members from Pahang.

“Among the offences were that they had stood as independents, candidates for parties besides Barisan Nasional and had assisted the opposing parties during the GE15,” he said.

He also announced that party vice-president Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin will replace Datuk Hasni Mohammad as the Johor liaison chief.

Ahmad added that the Umno branch and divisional polls will be held between Feb 1 and March 18.

He said the Wanita, Youth and Puteri branch wings will hold their polls between Feb 1 and 26.

He added that polls for Wanita, Youth and Puteri division wings will be held simultaneously nationwide on March 11.

Polls for the Umno supreme council members and at the division levels will be held simultaneously nationwide on March 18.

Tan Sri Shahrir Abdul Samad has been appointed to chair the Umno election committee.